why i blog

If you came across this blog, you most likely have your own blog and therefore probably enjoy blogging (all assumptions of course, but understandable ones). Blogging is different from journaling in a secret diary that you hide somewhere in your night stand, it’s letting all your thoughts, opinions, and precious words free flow all over the ether. It’s not being afraid to say, “This is what I think about this…” and so on and so forth.

I created a Tumblr to express my creative thoughts, a Buzznet to publish and gather entertainment news, and a WordPress to inform anyone who cares to read my blog about my overall interests. It’s public, which can be slightly worrisome but the fact that many other blogs have been created for similar reasons, lessens the worries and makes the overall experience fascinating.

I was recently assigned a reading by Andrew Sullivan titled Why I Blog and it was filled with plenty of relatable words and reasons for why he, just like many others, blog. I don’t think I could ever sum up things better than him, he basically took every reason I blog and expanded upon them while also adding plenty of new reasons I did not wrap my mind around.

Sullivan’s ah-hah quote was, “A columnist can ignore or duck a subject less noticeably than a blogger committing thoughts to pixels several times a day. A reporter can wait—must wait—until every source has confirmed. A novelist can spend months or years before committing words to the world. For bloggers, the deadline is always now. Blogging is therefore to writing what extreme sports are to athletics: more free-form, more accident-prone, less formal, more alive. It is, in many ways, writing out loud.”

Sullivan knows what’s up, but what about you? Why do you blog?

About MegMia
journalism major who brings a little optimism to a world full of pessimism.

Leave a Reply

