more videos to watch than hours in the day

I love stories and I especially love to wrap myself into a new world full of new experiences, new friends, and new places. I go through books like cartons of milk; every couple of days I need a new one. The same is embarrassingly true for television shows. I prefer to read over watch, I admit, but I’m a sucker for a good show.

When I was in high school I made an unhealthy habit of watching my favorite programs every weeknight they aired. Now that I’m in college, I’m lucky if I get to stay on a weekly track with Gossip Girl and Vampire Diaries. When it’s time for midterms and finals I usually miss my shows and have to play catch up during breaks. But I also have this bad habit of picking up new shows when close friends say things like, “It’s so good! You’ll like it. You should watch it,” sooooo, I binge-watch.

read The Confessions of a Binge Watcher

During winter and summer breaks I have watched entire seasons of shows finding myself prepared for the premiere of its 3rd, 4th, or even 5th season. It’s so simple to watch these shows when they are available through so many online sites and even On Demand. Also, reflecting on how much time is spent watching shows, I believe it’s easier to watch them online rather than at the times they air because they usually don’t have any commercial interruption, which tends to give me more time to squeeze in an extra episode.

But I admit, there are so many shows and so little time to watch them all. I often find myself stumbling upon new shows (or them finding me) when I take study or mental breaks and then I usually want to watch the season of the show in its entirety only to find myself put it on my summer “watch this” list (and once summer arrives I Hulu, Netflix, and On Demand them).

In, The Glut of Shows Unwatched, David Carr says, “The great thing about modern technology is that you never have to miss anything on television. That’s also the terrible thing about it.”

I never worry about missing a show when it airs because I can watch it online later in the night or On Demand later in the week or just have my best friend DVR the episode and I’ll watch it at her place.

It’s profound how we go from solely relying on specific air times and dates to not even turning a television on; there is an overall lack of watching a program at its specified time, rather there is the watching of television shows any time you want/can.

It’s simpler online but there is better picture through television, it’s shorter watching it online but the television commercial breaks give you free time to check Facebook and send out an email, it’s more convenient online but a more reliable viewing through television.

So what does this say for the future of television? Will people begin to depend more on viewing shows online over televised times? Will technology make it easier to view shows online? Is DVR the best thing in the world or do you prefer Hulu?

Looking for a show to watch over this summer? Here is a list of shows the New York Post recommends for 2012.

About MegMia
journalism major who brings a little optimism to a world full of pessimism.

Leave a Reply

